Mock Caldecott Award

The Caldecott medal “is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children.”

The Caldecott award winners  (and also the Newbery, Sibert, etc…) will be announced on Monday, Feb. 12th at 7AM PST.  You can watch the results live here or visit for more information.

This year first graders participated in our first ever Decatur Mock Caldecott award.  They read, evaluated  and discussed books using  the following questions:

  • Do the pictures help youvisualize the story?
  • Do the pictures help tell the story (mood, feelings)?
  • Do you like the book?
And the winner of our Mock Caldecott is…


After the Fall
by Dan Santat

“Written and illustrated by Caldecott medal winner Dan Santat (The Adventures of Beekle: The Unimaginary Friend), After the Fall follows Humpty Dumpty, an avid bird watcher who loves to be high up on the city wall. But after his fall, Humpty is terrified of heights and can no longer do his favorite things. He finally pulls together the courage to climb back up the wall. Based on the beloved nursery rhyme, this inspiring and unforgettable picture book will encourage even the most afraid to overcome their fears, learn to get back up—and reach new heights.” (summary from